Threave Estate, Castle Douglas

The entrance to Threave Estate is at the southern end of Castle Douglas just south of Carlingwark Loch and is easy to find. The Threave estate, owned by the National Trust for Scotland, has numerous public paths, by-passing the gardens. Park in the car-park at the gardens and follow the yellow arrow route markers. There are lots of choices to make during the route to extend the roate to take in other attractions and things of interest. The Walking Scotland Website   has lots more information about what’s available.

Senwick Shore Walk

This is a long established woodland walk, following a path parallel with the coast, between Mill Hall and Senwick Church. It uses the car park at the Dhoon shore, approximately 3 miles south of Kirkcudbright. The route is seldom more than 50 to 100 meters from the sea’s edge and is very scenic, with views across Kirkcudbright Bay.

Castramont Wood, Gatehouse of Fleet.

This is a short and undemanding walk through delightful ancient woodland justly famous for the display of woodland bluebells in the late spring. In the care of the Scottish Wildlife Trust, the wood is situated to the north-west of Gatehouse of Fleet. Take the road towards Laurieston but after about three-quarters of a mile, turn off left along narrow lane. Park in lay-by just before turn-off signed ‘Creetown via Gatehouse of Fleet Station’. Map reference of lay-by is NX 589601.  More info on the Walking Scotland website

Parton Viewpoint Walk, Loch Ken

A short signposted uphill walk of approx 2km alongside mature woodland leading to a viewpoint which offers extensive views over Loch Ken and towards the Galloway hills. Look out for red squirrels, buzzards and red kites. Accessed from the A713 Castle Douglas to Ayr road just north of Parton Village, parking is available near the entrance to the caravan site. More info on the Walking Scotland website

Dalbeattie Museum

This unique little museum displays not only items and artifacts of Dalbeattie’s varied history, but also contains much of interest about the social history of this area of Scotland. Dalbeattie’s links to the Titanic are highlighted as are its connections with the famous Dalbeattie Granite quarrying industry. The most amazing thing of all is that the display stems from the collection of one local man who has dedicated his life to establishing and growing this celebration of local history. Free entry. Find out more….

Gem Rock Museum, Creetown.

The Gem Rock Museum is the leading independent museum of its kind in the UK and is renowned worldwide. Owned and run by the Stephenson family it is regarded as one of the finest private collections of gemstones, crystals, minerals, rocks and fossils in Great Britain. Crystals and minerals are some of natures most outstanding creations and the collection demonstrates this with many fine specimens of world class standard on display. Tea room is open 7 days a week and offers a wide variety of home made food. Click here to visit their website.

Robert Burns Centre, Dumfries

Situated in the town’s eighteenth century watermill on the west bank of the River Nith, the Robert Burns Centre tells the story of Robert Burns’ last years spent in the bustling streets and lively atmosphere of Dumfries in the late eighteenth century.The exhibition is illuminated by many original manuscripts and belongings of the poet. There is a fascinating scale model of Dumfries in the 1790s and a haunting audio-visual presentation. There are museum trails and fun activities, and visitor information to help you explore Dumfries and Galloway’s Burns connections. Find out more…

The Stewartry Museum, Kirkcudbright

Kirkcudbright Museum

The Stewartry Museum was founded in 1879. As the collections grew, the present purpose-built museum was opened in 1893. In recent years the interior has been considerably upgraded whilst retaining its charm as a traditional late Victorian museum. Its collections chiefly relate to the human and natural history of the Stewartry also known as Kirkcudbrightshire. The permanent collection includes the “Siller Gun” – Britain’s earliest surviving sporting trophy, and works by Kirkcudbrightshire artists including Jessie M King. Temporary exhibitions highlight different aspects of the collection and Museums Service activities. Has been described as a museum of museums.

MacLellan’s Castle, Kirkcudbright

This old town house is to be found right in the heart of Kirkcudbright. Now owned by Historic Scotland, it was once the home of the Lords of Kirkcudbright. Find out more about its history, see the dark vaults which were occupied by the servants, the secret spyhole behind the fireplace in the great hall, and much more. A small entry charge is made.  The castle is open 7 days a week from 1st April to 30th September, but closes during the winter months. The Historic Scotland website has full details.

Threave Castle, Castle Douglas.

Built in 1369, the massive bulk of Threave Castle is a major landmark in the Stewartry countryside. Once the home of the ‘Black Douglases’ it stands 21 meters high and has 5 storeys. Built on an island, it was once accessed by a movable bridge from the gatehouse to the first floor. This level is vaulted, and was occupied by kitchens. Below is a basement with a well and prison pit. A spiral stair within the 2m thick wall leads up to the great hall, which had a second bridge access to the upper gatehouse. Above this were two timber floors, now missing, with two rooms on the next storey, and servants quarters at the top. Holes in the external walls would have supported a timber defensive structure known as a bretache, which allowed the defenders to drop objects on attackers at the walls. The Historic Scotland website has full details.